Hartney

(1882 – Present) Hartney is a town with a vibrant history, pleasant present and bright future!

Stories

#The 110 year old building that today houses the Hart-Cam Museum spent most of its life serving as a general store. It later became a restaurant, museum . . . and Hollywood film set? Yes indeed – not only once, but twice! [[inline:right:hill-store]] **1902—Present** ##The Hill Brothers W. H. B. (Harry) and Alfred Hill, hailing originally from England, arrived in Manitoba together in 1881. Both of them became successful businessmen—opening general stores across southwestern Manitoba—and were generous contributors to their communities. The A.E. Hill Company Ltd took its name from the younger of the brothers, Alfred Edward Hill (b. 1859). After arriving in Manitoba, Alfred worked as an employee in the retail trade before purchasing his own store in Griswold, MB in 1891. While there, he served as the Reeve of the RM of Sifton. In 1899 the Hill brothers built a two-storey general store in Underhill east of Hartney, which had just been reached by the railway. Harry supervised this outlet of the A.E Hill Co. It was eventually sold in 1938. Harry and Alfred also bought a store in Carmen and gave it over to their younger brother Fred to manage. The Hill brothers began doing business in Hartney when they bought and operated an existing general store purchased from H. C. Hamelin. It was known as the Red Star Store and Harry was set up as manager while Alfred remained in Griswold. ##The A. E. Hill Store In 1902 the Hill brothers built their own store on ...

[[inline:right:hart-cam-museum]] **OPEN in July-Aug. Or by Appointment** **PHONE: 204-858-2127 or 204-858-2064** **Admission by Donation** **Location: 310 Poplar Street, Hartney** [Visit Hart-Cam Museum Webpage](http://www.hartney.ca/main.asp?id_menu=62&parent_id=57) 1999 - Present ##[Building History](article=hill-store) ##Museum History In the mid 1970s the Hartney Chamber of Commerce put a committee together to go about looking for a space suitable for a museum. With some grant money, temporary quarters were found to house the articles that had already been donated or loaned to the Museum-to-be by local residents. In 1977 the RM of Cameron moved locations, and offered their old building to the Museum committee. The two-storey structure was a heritage building, having been built in 1905 for use as an office, warehouse and lumber business. Since then, the building had been used as a part residence, schoolhouse, farm machinery business and the Manitoba Poultry Marketing Association’s headquarters before being turned into municipal offices. After moving in, the Museum committee set about renovating the ground floor of their new building. The newly named Hart-Cam Museum officially opened in June of 1978, with a collection of artifacts that reflected the lives of the pioneers of the area. Students were hired each summer to work in the museum and catalogue the museum’s collection. In 1998 the Museum’s roof was in bad need of repair, a job which would cost $10,000. The Museum committee decided instead to relocate, which is when they bought the former [A. E. Hill Co store](article=hill-store). ##Things to See + Hole in the wall from *The Lookout* filming ...

(1882 - Present) Harntey is a town with a vibrant history, pleasent present and bright future!